Direto not varying resistance

Choose your ideal trainer

Moderators: Elite Admin S, Elite Admin M

stuartpratt
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:51 pm

Direto not varying resistance

Postby stuartpratt » Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:44 pm

HI

Last Saturday I did a Zwift upgrade and my Direto is no longer varying resistance.

I’ve tried Zwift who say they have no other occurrence and suggest a firmware upgrade of the Direto. The Upgrado app says I am up to date on firmware.

I’ve tried reboot and reinstall of Zwift. The issue remains.

I’ve tried Bluetooth which picks up cadence and power but does not give resistance change.

I’ve tried ANT+ where I got a message on Zwift saying Connected on Power Source and on Cadence but a message saying “No signal” on Controllable.

Can anyone help please?

Thanks

Stuart

User avatar
Elite Admin S
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:18 am

Re: Direto not varying resistance

Postby Elite Admin S » Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:16 am

In my e-training the trainer works properly?

stuartpratt
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:51 pm

Re: Direto not varying resistance

Postby stuartpratt » Sun Jun 21, 2020 4:36 pm

Yes, when I pair the device on my trainer it says it connects.

I don’t have a subscription to use the app.

Thanks

Stuart

User avatar
Elite Admin S
Posts: 1846
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:18 am

Re: Direto not varying resistance

Postby Elite Admin S » Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:01 am

You don't need the subscription to use level mode and check the variation of resistance.
If the resistance won't change even there contact the customer care at myetraining@elite-it.com, there may be a problem with the electronic board.

Regards


Return to “Trainers general discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests