Direto power off by around 50 watts

Moderators: Elite Admin M, Elite Admin S

olaf@wippenberg.de

Direto power off by around 50 watts

Postby olaf@wippenberg.de » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:35 pm

Hi,

I'm new to indoor trainers but just found out that my new Direto is off by ca 50w compared to a stages powermeter.

calibrated a few times with no change.

I first had a mountainbike connected and was already wondering why I could barely hit any speed and then changed to a cyclocrosser with the same feeling. I was only using Zwift and being new to the whole topic I thought well it's different than outside :)

So now I tried a few things, and whatever method I chose the Direto always shows between 40-60w less than the stages.
I have 3 bikes with powermeters by Quarq and Stages so I can roughly guess what the wattage is.
comparing with the stages powermeter connected to iphone x stages app and strava app.

had the direto connected via bluetooth to Zwift and my e-training.
Also to my e-training iphone app and also tried ant+ connection to edge 1000.

Always the same result.

when calibrating the offset is just 2 or 3 numers off which is still ok i guess?
what can I do, or do I just have faulty unit?

Best
Olaf

Elite Admin S

Re: Direto power off by around 50 watts

Postby Elite Admin S » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:41 am

Please contact our customer care at real@elite-it.com to investigate further

Regards

Boggles

Postby Boggles » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:09 pm

I have owned the Direto for around six weeks and have the same issue. I have done numerous tests over this period.

For testing, I have the Direto connected to the my etraining software with no other power meter connected to the software.
My Stages is connected to the Stages app (though the results are the same when connected to my Garmin Edge 1000 via ant+)
Direto has been calibrated after 10 minutes. Stages is running latest firmware and calibrated.

If I'm producing around 60+w on the Stages, the Direto will read around 50w