Page 1 of 1

Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:56 pm
by Littlegrisu
Hello Elite team or forum users,

I got my new direto couple days ago and so far everything looks fine. 1st rounds done and no issues with any pairing to devices.

I'm wondering how high the minimum resistance of the direto should be. I ask because it seems to be high on my unit and I have no experience with other smart trainers. When I try to turn the flywheel I need some force to do it and also when I ride the bike it doesn't take long until the flywheel stops after stop pedaling. Is that correct or is there anything wrong?

I haven't done it so far but if I would ride downhill on Zwift I would still have to pedaling to not stop short term.
May it should that way, but I'm not sure...

Thanks in advance for feedback

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:57 pm
by Elite Admin S
Hi

Direto has its own internal friction.
This means that it cannot go to 0 resistance.
Negative slopes cannot be simulated (it should also "accelerate" your pedaling to simulate gravity effect)

Regards

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:04 pm
by jlorente1968
I find my newbrand Direto unit very easy to spin at 35-38 km/h upto 2.5% slope but also hardly going over 38-39 km/h at same power at -8% -9% negative slope. Itnlooks really weird. My old wired Realaxiom is more realistic with negative slopes and possitive ones upto 6%. Is it a calibration unit issue?
Thks

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:13 am
by hamish@cloud.net.au
What is the best way to reduce the resistance to minimum in order to adjust the gears on the bike? Use my e-training free ride mode?

It seems that the trainer goes to sleep after a while and there it has more resistance than minimum?

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:47 pm
by Elite Admin S
@jlorente,

Are you using my e-training app/software or a third party app?
Run calibration in my e-training and check if the offset value you get is closer to the original one (you can find it on a sticker on the trainer), then let me know.


@hamish,

In standby mode the resistance is a little bit higher (we added this option so if a user want to use the trainer without power, he can have a minimum resistance). If you want to have the minimum resistance, you can power on the trainer, connect it to the app (it goes to minimum level) and then power it off immediately.

Regard

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 11:52 am
by ipco
I have the same issue. The resistance in default model is so high that to turn the wheels to adjust the gears on the bike is super hard. Whayt do you mean by "connect it to the app"? What app? Myetraining?
Also my tire circumference is set to 173, is this the right value?
Thx!

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 12:16 pm
by Elite Admin S
Hi ipco

Yes, I meant my e-training app.
If you're using my e-training, you have to insert your complete circumference value (that should be around 2000-2100mm).
Only if you use a non Elite device or app you have to divide it by 12.1 (that should be around 170-175mm, depending on the circumference value)

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Mon May 14, 2018 12:37 pm
by ipco
Thanks, I am using TrainerRoad and I set the value to 173. Do you have a solution to the pedaling problem? Pedaling was super hard during the FTP test in TrainerRoad. I will do calibration tonight. Should I try power smooting as well?

Re: Direto minimum resistance

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:39 am
by Elite Admin S
@ipco,

I really don't know exactly how TrainerRoad works.
Of course you can try with the power smoothing, then if you still have problems there (and not in my e-training), contact TrainerRoad customer care.